Australian Grand Prix Double For Platt

DAVID PLATT picked up a weekend double on the DPA's Australian Grand Prix circuit by winning both tournaments held at the Australian Anglo Indian Association in Perth.

Platt followed up his win on the opening weekend of the DPA season in February by claiming the year's seventh and eighth tournaments to close the gap in the AGP Order of Merit on Corey Cadby, the youngster who had won all three events on the second weekend earlier this month.

Platt got the better of Cadby on both days in Perth, defeating the newcomer in the quarter-finals of Saturday's opening event, which followed an earlier narrow win in the knockout stage over former World Youth Championship qualifier Harley Kemp.

Platt then saw off Conan Ugle in the semi-finals before overcoming New Zealand-born Koha Kokiri 6-3 in the final.

Kokiri, last year's DPA Oceanic Masters winner who went on to compete in the William Hill World Darts Championship, saw off former Sydney Darts Masters qualifiers Clinton Bridge and Gordon Maters on his way to the final.

Platt and Kokiri met again in the quarter-finals of Sunday's tournament, with the British-born ace taking another victory before seeing off 2014 Oceanic Masters winner John Weber in the semi-finals and Cadby in the final as a 6-4 triumph completed his double.

Cadby remains 23 points clear of Platt at the top of the AGP standings following the weekend with 124 points to his rival's 101, with Hoefel and Loz Ryder tied for third with 68 and Mathers on 64.

The next Harrows Australian Grand Prix weekend will be the double-header on April 2-3 at the Warilla Bowls CLub in NSW, before two further events are held on April 30-May 1 at the NDDA in Adelaide.

DPA Harrows Australian Grand Prix
Event Seven
Saturday March 19, Australian Anglo Indian Association, Perth
Last 16
Clinton Bridge 6-0 Brad Beswick
Koha Kokiri 6-5 Aaron Petty
Gordon Mathers 6-3 John Kitchin
Loz Ryder 6-5 Damon Heta
Tyson Hoefel 6-3 Robbie King
Conan Ugle 6-4 Kalani Hillman
Corey Cadby 6-2 Daniel Kelly
David Platt 6-5 Harley Kemp

Koha Kokiri 6-2 Clinton Bridge
Gordon Mathers 6-1 Loz Ryder
Conan Ugle 6-2 Tyson Hoefel
David Platt 6-4 Corey Cadby

Koha Kokiri 6-5 Gordon Mathers
David Platt 6-4 Conan Ugle

David Platt 6-3 Koha Kokiri

AGP Event Eight
Sunday March 20, Australian Anglo Indian Association, Perth
Last 16
Damon Heta 6-5 Kalani Hillman
Harley Kemp 6-0 Clinton Bridge
Corey Cadby 6-4 John Kitchin
Shane Tichowitsch 6-4 Bill Aitken
John Weber 6-4 Aaron Petty
Tyson Hoefel 6-4 Tim Pusey
Koha Kokiri 6-0 Lucas Cameron
David Platt 6-5 Jeremy Fagg

Damon Heta 6-3 Harley Kemp
Corey Cadby 6-3 Shane Tichowitsch
John Weber 6-2 Tyson Hoefel
David Platt 6-3 Koha Kokiri

Corey Cadby 6-0 Damon Heta
David Platt 6-4 John Weber