DAVID PLATT has won the 2016 DPA Oceanic Masters and secured a spot in the William Hill World Darts Championship.

Perth-based Platt finished second behind Corey Cadby in the 2016 DPA Australian Grand Prix rankings, meaning that he missed out on automatic World Championship qualification earlier in the weekend.

However, he bounced back to defeat New Zealand's Cody Harris 6-0 in the Oceanic Masters final at the Mollymook Beach Bowls & Recreation Club on Sunday.

After winning through the round-robin stage, Platt then overcame Bill Aitken and Damon Heta with 6-4 scorelines before seeing off Perth rival Lawrence Ryder - a former DPA number one - 6-3.

He then repeated the scoreline in the semi-finals against New Zealand's Rob Szabo, a DPA event winner on Friday, before producing finishes of 140 and 126 during his whitewash of Harris in the final.

Auckland's Harris had won Saturday's DPA ranking event and was in fine form during the knockout rounds of the Oceanic Masters, whitewashing Dean Gibbs, Clinton Bridge and Liam McLennon.

He then defeated Melbourne's Rhys Mathewson 6-4 in the semi-finals, but saw his dream of a World Championship debut shattered by Platt.

Platt's success means that he will be making his third World Championship appearance but his first at Alexandra Palace after bridging the gap between his 2003 and 2006 appearances when the event was held at the Circus Tavern.

Platt joins DPA number one Cadby and DPNZ qualifier Warren Parry in travelling from Oceania to the UK in December to compete in the World Championship.

2016 DPA Oceanic Masters
Last 32
Harley Kemp 6-2 Kayleigh Johnson
Lawrence Ryder 6-4 Jeremy Fagg
Damon Heta 6-0 Kim Anderson
David Platt 6-4 Bill Aitken
John Weber 6-3 Mark Taafe
Pat Molloy 6-5 John Bunyard
Rob Szabo 6-1 Terrance Insley
Lucas Cameron 6-1 Scott Kennedy
Cody Harris 6-0 Dean Gibbs
Clinton Bridge 6-1 Kevin Luland
Liam McLennon 6-2 Robbie King
Shaun Gibbs 6-1 Clayton Collins
Jerry Weyman 6-5 Aaron Petty
Rhys Mathewson 6-1 Matthew Francois
Steve Duke Snr 6-1 Anton Soc
Scott Johnson 6-5 Kalani Hillman

Last 16
Lawrence Ryder 6-0 Harley Kemp
David Platt 6-4 Damon Heta
John Weber 6-3 Pat Molloy
Rob Szabo 6-2 Lucas Cameron
Cody Harris 6-0 Clinton Bridge
Liam McLennon 6-5 Shaun Gibbs
Rhys Mathewson 6-5 Jerry Weyman
Steve Duke Snr 6-2 Scott Johnson

David Platt 6-3 Lawrence Ryder
Rob Szabo 6-5 John Weber
Cody Harris 6-0 Liam McLennon
Rhys Mathewson 6-5 Steve Duke Snr

David Platt 6-3 Rob Szabo
Cody Harris 6-4 Rhys Mathewson

David Platt 6-0 Cody Harris